Youth Tour 2017

Ethan Hunt of Colchester, Darrin Ross of Kirkwood, Madeline Groenewold of Industry, Matt Rauschert of Bushnell, Annie Sholl of Carthage, Kevin White of Carthage and Erbin Zejnuloski of Macomb represented McDonough Power Cooperative and McDonough Telephone Cooperative in Washington, D.C., during the annual “Youth to Washington” Tour, June 9-16. This event, sponsored by the electric and telephone cooperatives of Illinois since the late 1950s, is an introduction to our democratic form of government and cooperatives for rural youth. Rauschert was this year’s Rep. Rich Myers Memorial Youth Tour recipient.

The students met with Congresswoman Cheri Bustos, U.S. Senator Dick Durbin, and were among 69 rural Illinois youth leaders selected for the trip. The Illinois students joined more than 1,730 young leaders from across the country, a record high for the “Youth to Washington” Tour. In addition to the Capitol, they also visited Arlington National Cemetery, the Washington National Cathedral, several Smithsonian Museums, the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum, the World War II Memorial, memorials to Presidents Lincoln, Jefferson, Washington and Roosevelt, the National Archives, the Royal Embassy of Saudi Arabia, the Newseum, and several other historical sites.

Sophomores and juniors in high schools that are within the service area of McDonough Power Cooperative and McDonough Telephone Cooperative are eligible to participate in the annual program. To learn more about the “Youth to Washington” Tour go to or

Pictured from left: Darrin Ross, Kevin White, Madeline Groenewold, Matt Rauschert, Congresswoman Cheri Bustos, Annie Sholl, Erbin Zejnuloski and Ethan Hunt.